Photo Scanning Fanatic

My Top 5 Things to Photograph

Sure, some things get photographed a lot. But I argue that when you take the photo, it’s a different perspective towards the object. It’s about how you interpret something and how you want to portray it to others through this wonderful art form. There’s so much you can show people, and so many new ways to look at things, I don’t think photography can ever get old.

There’s so many cool things to photograph, this is true. But it got me to thinking what are some of the coolest things to take pictures of? Here’s my top 5 list. Agree or disagree? Let’s duke it out in the comments!

Here’s The Top 5 Things In My Memory Card…

 1. Vintage Items

Vintage1

 I know, I know, this is a very broad category. But I couldn’t narrow it down to just one, so I decided to go for the whole category. When I say vintage I’m talking really old items. Those old jewelry boxes, old style clothing and shoes, phones, old metal bicycles, keys, carousels, there’s so many ways to give these a whole new light.

I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but I challenge you to take something old-looking and give it a whole new look with the click of a button. Hint: They look even cooler if you take the slides digital, then you can edit them 😉

2. Plays On Lights

Playing with Light2

 We’ve all seen those photos that take light to a whole new level. You can achieve these light affects by playing with your aperture, shutter speed, and ISO settings. Play around until you find the look you like—photography isn’t meant just to be enjoyed by the masses it can be personal, too. That’s what I like about it.

I personally love seeing pictures (like the one pictured here) where you can spell something with lights. Anyone know a trick for this? I’d love to try it, but I haven’t gotten around to Google yet.

3. Flora and Fauna

Flora and Fauna3

 I couldn’t pass up that opportunity to use some words I used in my high school English class (boy, would my teacher be proud!). But really, though—trees, flowers, and vines are all given a whole new light when looked at/photographed through the lens. I don’t know what it is, but it’s just so much fun for me to find fun angles to take an ordinary plant and make it even more beautiful.

Want to know more? Of course you do. Here’s another Cheeky Helpful Hint: play with the depth of field, that’s what makes it look even cooler. Here’s some awesome photography tips and secrets to help you get the perfect plant shot.

4. Beautiful Buildings and Structures

Buildings-Structures4

 I’m almost positive that in another life, I could’ve been an architect. I have a great appreciation for beautiful buildings and structures, the Eiffel Tower being one of my favorites. I’ve been blessed and have been able to travel with my family throughout my childhood. Paris was a city like no other, I fell in love with almost every building, I love the old, classic style of the streets there.

I know it seems kind of boring taking pictures of buildings and boring old things made out of metal, but there’s plenty of ways to make it beautiful and really turn it into art. Take the camera and show us what it looks like through your eyes!

 5. People!

People5

 Okay, you had to know this was coming. As interesting as the non-moving objects can be, sometimes it’s the moving ones that give you the most fun. You can experiment with facial expressions, body postures, there are so many different things you can do to take the perfect shot that’s planted in your imagination.

How do you take the perfect picture of people? Some are photogenic, some aren’t, sometimes they move and can’t sit still, there’s gonna be some days where it’s a little harder. I’m one of the non-photogenic people, but I can take a decent shot of myself and a group, here’s some awesome tips to learn from the pros to take great shots.

The Perfect Photo is Only A Click Away…

Links In Article:

 http://www.dpsdave.com/photo_life.php

http://www.digital-photo-secrets.com/tip/2692/taking-perfect-pictures-of-plants/

http://photography.tutsplus.com/articles/how-to-take-photos-of-people-like-a-professional–photo-860

This entry was published on August 12, 2014 at 5:12 pm. It’s filed under Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

